Jump to content

Reference:6210: Difference between revisions

From Rolexopedia
[checked revision][checked revision]
Update Kew A totals with 1953 Rolex advertisement evidence
Deep audit: clarify Kew A totals, production dates, and dial variants
 
Line 44: Line 44:
| No date
| No date
|-
|-
| Reported gold production
| Reported gold allocation
| 24 watches, cased or released in 1954
| 24 gold watches; published accounts associate casing or release with 1954
|-
|-
| Related Kew A reference
| Related Kew A reference
Line 53: Line 53:
==Where it sits in the line==
==Where it sits in the line==


The 6210 was the gold-cased part of Rolex’s Kew A wristwatch program. Sources describe 136 certified movements, with 112 used in steel ref. 5056 Speedkings and 24 in gold 6210s. A 1953 Rolex advertisement reproduced by Marco Strazzi says 140 movements had qualified for and received the certificate. James Dowling’s account, repeated by Hodinkee, and Vetroplastica give 145 submitted, 9 unsuccessful, and 136 certified; Christie’s says 136 were submitted. The published totals conflict. They describe the wider test program, while the 24-watch 6210 allocation is a separate reported figure.
The 6210 was the gold-cased part of Rolex’s Kew A wristwatch program, alongside the steel Oyster Speedking 5056. Published accounts give different program totals. A 1953 Rolex advertisement reproduced by Marco Strazzi says 140 movements had qualified for the certificate. James Dowling’s account, repeated by Hodinkee and Vetroplastica, reports 145 submissions, nine failures and 136 certificates; Christie’s says 136 movements were submitted. Paul Boutros told WatchPro that 140 watches formed the program, including about 120 steel Speedkings and 24 gold 6210s. His approximate branch counts total about 144 and do not match the stated 140 overall; the steel estimate also differs from the 112/24 split in Dowling-derived accounts. Dowling linked the 24-piece gold allocation to a letter from Rolex; the figure remains attributed.


==Production outline==
==Production outline==


The movements were tested before they were cased. Christie's dates movement 4162 to 1948 and says it was cased and sold in 1954. Bonhams dates movement 4156’s Kew A pass to 6 April 1951; Uhrenkosmos also places the 6210 release in 1954. Auction listings date individual examples circa 1951 and circa 1955; those are lot estimates, not evidence of separate production runs or the endpoints of the 6210 series.
The movements were tested before casing. Christie's dates movement 4162 to 1948 and says it was cased and sold in 1954. Bonhams records movement 4156 passing Kew A on 6 April 1951; Uhrenkosmos also places the 6210 release in 1954. Auction houses date individual watches to circa 1951 and circa 1955. Those dates belong to the lots; they do not define separate production runs or the reference’s endpoints.


Vetroplastica lists 1949–1951 for both the steel 5056 and gold 6210, alongside the later casing date reported by Christie's and Dowling. Its table does not say whether the range dates movement production, testing, or finished watches.
Vetroplastica gives 1949–1951 for both the steel 5056 and gold 6210. Its table does not specify whether those years refer to movement production, testing or completed watches. They sit alongside the 1948 movement date and the 1954 casing or release dates in the auction and specialist accounts.


Published accounts report 24 gold watches. Hodinkee attributes the number to James Dowling, who said Rolex confirmed production and case numbers in a letter; Christie's cites Dowling and Hess’s ''The Best of Time''. Specialist sites repeat the figure. The accessible sources report this correspondence but do not reproduce the Rolex records.
Dowling said a Rolex letter confirmed the 24 gold watches and their case numbers. Hodinkee recounts that exchange, and Christie’s cites Dowling and Hess’s ''The Best of Time''. The letter and a complete serial list are not reproduced in the sources reviewed.


==Movement notes==
==Movement notes==


The 6210 is manual wind, with a 10½-ligne movement signed “Rolex Kew A Tested.” Christie’s calls the movement Cal. 10.5; Uhrenkosmos describes it as a selected Cal. 700; Vetroplastica says it uses a Cal. 700 base with some Cal. 720 components. Bonhams calls individual 6210 movements Cal. 720. The Movements page lists generic Cal. 720 as automatic; keep the auction label attached to its lot until factory records clarify the Kew movement name.
The 6210 is manual wind, with a 10½-ligne movement signed “Rolex Kew A Tested.” Christie’s calls the movement Cal. 10.5; Uhrenkosmos describes it as a selected Cal. 700; Vetroplastica says it uses a Cal. 700 base with some Cal. 720 components. Bonhams calls individual 6210 movements Cal. 720. The [[Reference:Movements|Movements page]] lists generic Cal. 720 as automatic; keep the auction label attached to its lot until factory records clarify the Kew movement name.


The trial movements differ in present condition. Bonhams reports that the balance in movement 4156 had been changed. Koller says movement 4160 later received a new balance and balance cock; its 2026 listing describes movement 4185 with its original Guillaume compensation balance and polished, bevelled steel cock.
The trial movements differ in present condition. Bonhams reports that the balance in movement 4156 had been changed. Koller says movement 4160 later received a new balance and balance cock; its 2026 listing describes movement 4185 with its original Guillaume compensation balance and polished, bevelled steel cock.
Line 78: Line 78:
The documented silvered dials have applied markers and subsidiary seconds at six. Christie's describes applied gold Arabic numerals; Antiquorum and Bonhams describe baton markers. The Kew A dial wording includes “Observatory Chronometer” and “Kew A Certificate,” with the latter printed in red on the Bonhams 2018 example.
The documented silvered dials have applied markers and subsidiary seconds at six. Christie's describes applied gold Arabic numerals; Antiquorum and Bonhams describe baton markers. The Kew A dial wording includes “Observatory Chronometer” and “Kew A Certificate,” with the latter printed in red on the Bonhams 2018 example.


Bonhams’ 2024 watch has a reprinted dial. It reads “Rolex Oyster Chronometer” without “Observatory” or “Kew A Certificate.” Bonhams identifies it as a reprint, so it belongs under later dial condition rather than factory variants.
Bonhams’ 2024 watch has a reprinted dial. It reads “Rolex Oyster Chronometer” without “Observatory” or “Kew A Certificate.” Bonhams identifies it as a reprint; it documents later dial condition, not a factory variant.
 
Hand descriptions also vary by lot. Antiquorum records yellow-gold dauphine hands; Bonhams 2018 describes gilt dagger hands with luminous inserts; its 2024 reprint example has gilt lance hands. Three hand descriptions appear in the cited lots; the records do not establish a production sequence.


<gallery mode="packed" heights="180">
<gallery mode="packed" heights="180">
Line 84: Line 86:
File:Ref 6210 dial-variant-reprinted.webp|Bonhams 2024, lot 19: reprinted dial without the Kew A text.
File:Ref 6210 dial-variant-reprinted.webp|Bonhams 2024, lot 19: reprinted dial without the Kew A text.
</gallery>
</gallery>
Hand descriptions also vary by lot. Antiquorum records yellow-gold dauphine hands; Bonhams 2018 describes gilt dagger hands with luminous inserts; its 2024 reprint example has gilt lance hands. The available examples show three hand descriptions without a production sequence.


==Case, bezel, crystal, and crown==
==Case, bezel, crystal, and crown==


The catalogued diameter ranges from 34 to 35 mm. Christie's calls the case circular and water-resistant; Antiquorum describes a three-body case with an inverted bezel and concave lugs; Bonhams calls its examples tonneau-form. Catalogues differ in their case terminology and do not establish separate case designs. They describe a screw-down caseback and crown. Crystal material is not consistently reported.
The catalogued diameter ranges from 34 to 35 mm. Christie's calls the case circular and water-resistant; Antiquorum describes a three-body case with an inverted bezel and concave lugs; Bonhams calls its examples tonneau-form. These are lot-level descriptions; the records do not show whether they represent separate case designs. The catalogues describe a screw-down caseback and crown. They do not identify the crystal material consistently.


==Bracelets, end links, clasps, and packaging==
==Bracelets, end links, clasps, and packaging==


Auction records mostly show the 6210 on leather. Koller’s 2025 listing describes a Bucherer gold bracelet as an alternative to a leather strap on one sale watch; factory supply and original fitment remain unproved. The cited records give no verified bracelet reference, end-link number, or clasp code.
Auction records mostly show the 6210 on leather. Koller’s 2025 listing describes a Bucherer gold bracelet as an alternative to a leather strap on one sale watch; factory supply and original fitment remain unproved. The cited records identify no verified bracelet reference, end-link number, or clasp code.


Bonhams’ 2024 lot lists a Rolex box as an accompaniment. That record gives no evidence that the box was made for the 6210 or accompanied it at original sale.
Bonhams’ 2024 lot lists a Rolex box as an accompaniment, without tying it to the 6210 at original sale.


==Historical market and auction record==
==Historical market and auction record==


The table lists six auction appearances through June 2026. Five case numbers are visible; Bonhams masks the last two digits in its 2018 record, so that lot may overlap with another sale. Koller’s 2025 catalogue says four examples had been offered; its 2026 listing says five before the current sale. Six listings do not establish six individual watches.
The table covers six auction records through June 2026. Five case numbers are visible; Bonhams masks the last two digits in its 2018 record, so that lot may overlap with another sale. Koller’s 2025 catalogue reports four earlier appearances; its 2026 listing reports five. The six records are not a count of six confirmed individual watches.


{| class="wikitable"
{| class="wikitable"
Line 132: Line 132:
|}
|}


The numbers above are reported as case numbers. James Dowling’s 6210 is reported as case 97458, described in his letter as the fourth gold-cased watch. The five-digit numbers fall outside the six-digit ranges in generic serial charts. Published records do not map them to those charts.
The auction houses identify these as case numbers. James Dowling reported 97458 as the case number of the fourth gold-cased watch. The 6210’s five-digit case numbers sit outside the six-digit ranges in generic serial charts; the sources reviewed do not provide a conversion between the two systems. [[Reference:Serial-numbers|The serial-number guide]] records the lot-level dates without treating them as a 6210 serial sequence.
 
==Gallery==


<gallery mode="packed" heights="180">
<gallery mode="packed" heights="180">
Line 150: Line 148:
* [https://www.bonhams.com/auction/29155/lot/19/rolex-an-extremely-rare-18k-gold-kew-a-manual-wind-wristwatch-rolex-oyster-observatory-chronometer-ref-6210-circa-1955/ Bonhams, "Bonhams sale 29155, Lot 19 — Rolex 18K gold Kew A manual wind wristwatch, Oyster Observatory Chronometer, ref. 6210, circa 1955", Bonhams, 2024-12-12]
* [https://www.bonhams.com/auction/29155/lot/19/rolex-an-extremely-rare-18k-gold-kew-a-manual-wind-wristwatch-rolex-oyster-observatory-chronometer-ref-6210-circa-1955/ Bonhams, "Bonhams sale 29155, Lot 19 — Rolex 18K gold Kew A manual wind wristwatch, Oyster Observatory Chronometer, ref. 6210, circa 1955", Bonhams, 2024-12-12]
* [https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/the-rolex-kew-a-quite-possibly-and-very-likely-the-most-accu Eric Wind, "The Rolex Kew A: Quite Possibly (And Very Likely) The Most Accurate Vintage Rolexes Ever Made", Hodinkee, 2011-04-25]
* [https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/the-rolex-kew-a-quite-possibly-and-very-likely-the-most-accu Eric Wind, "The Rolex Kew A: Quite Possibly (And Very Likely) The Most Accurate Vintage Rolexes Ever Made", Hodinkee, 2011-04-25]
* [https://www.watchpro.com/my-all-time-top-ten-watches-by-phillips-americas-head-of-watches-paul-boutros/ Paul Boutros, "Paul Boutros, My All-time Top Ten Watches — WatchPro USA", WatchPro USA, 2022]
* [https://www.gazette-drouot.com/lots/29543783-rolex-extremement-rare-chronometre--- Koller Auktionen, "Koller Auktionen, Watches A213, lot 2860 — Rolex ref. 6210, case 97457", Koller Auktionen, 2025-06-24]
* [https://www.gazette-drouot.com/lots/29543783-rolex-extremement-rare-chronometre--- Koller Auktionen, "Koller Auktionen, Watches A213, lot 2860 — Rolex ref. 6210, case 97457", Koller Auktionen, 2025-06-24]
* [https://www.gazette-drouot.com/lots/33871755-rolex-chronometre-d-observatoire--- Koller Auktionen, "Koller Auktionen, Watches A217, lot 2860 — Rolex ref. 6210, case 97463", Koller Auktionen, 2026-06-23]
* [https://www.gazette-drouot.com/lots/33871755-rolex-chronometre-d-observatoire--- Koller Auktionen, "Koller Auktionen, Watches A217, lot 2860 — Rolex ref. 6210, case 97463", Koller Auktionen, 2026-06-23]

Latest revision as of 04:16, 20 October 2026


Oyster → 6210

18K gold Rolex ref. 6210 with a silvered dial, subsidiary seconds, and Kew A Certificate text
Bonhams, 2018, lot 22.

The Rolex Oyster Observatory Chronometer ref. 6210 is a 34–35 mm, 18K-gold, hand-wound Oyster with subsidiary seconds. Documented Kew A movements are signed “Rolex Kew A Tested”; standard dials carry Observatory and Kew A wording. Bonhams identifies a 2024 example’s dial as a reprint without those inscriptions. Published accounts report 24 gold-cased examples, associated with 1954.

Core facts

Detail Record
Model Oyster Observatory Chronometer
Case 18K yellow gold, screw-down caseback and crown
Diameter Auction catalogues give 34 or 35 mm
Movement Manual wind, 10½ lignes; caliber naming varies by source
Display Hours, minutes, subsidiary seconds
Date No date
Reported gold allocation 24 gold watches; published accounts associate casing or release with 1954
Related Kew A reference Steel Oyster Speedking 5056

Where it sits in the line

The 6210 was the gold-cased part of Rolex’s Kew A wristwatch program, alongside the steel Oyster Speedking 5056. Published accounts give different program totals. A 1953 Rolex advertisement reproduced by Marco Strazzi says 140 movements had qualified for the certificate. James Dowling’s account, repeated by Hodinkee and Vetroplastica, reports 145 submissions, nine failures and 136 certificates; Christie’s says 136 movements were submitted. Paul Boutros told WatchPro that 140 watches formed the program, including about 120 steel Speedkings and 24 gold 6210s. His approximate branch counts total about 144 and do not match the stated 140 overall; the steel estimate also differs from the 112/24 split in Dowling-derived accounts. Dowling linked the 24-piece gold allocation to a letter from Rolex; the figure remains attributed.

Production outline

The movements were tested before casing. Christie's dates movement 4162 to 1948 and says it was cased and sold in 1954. Bonhams records movement 4156 passing Kew A on 6 April 1951; Uhrenkosmos also places the 6210 release in 1954. Auction houses date individual watches to circa 1951 and circa 1955. Those dates belong to the lots; they do not define separate production runs or the reference’s endpoints.

Vetroplastica gives 1949–1951 for both the steel 5056 and gold 6210. Its table does not specify whether those years refer to movement production, testing or completed watches. They sit alongside the 1948 movement date and the 1954 casing or release dates in the auction and specialist accounts.

Dowling said a Rolex letter confirmed the 24 gold watches and their case numbers. Hodinkee recounts that exchange, and Christie’s cites Dowling and Hess’s The Best of Time. The letter and a complete serial list are not reproduced in the sources reviewed.

Movement notes

The 6210 is manual wind, with a 10½-ligne movement signed “Rolex Kew A Tested.” Christie’s calls the movement Cal. 10.5; Uhrenkosmos describes it as a selected Cal. 700; Vetroplastica says it uses a Cal. 700 base with some Cal. 720 components. Bonhams calls individual 6210 movements Cal. 720. The Movements page lists generic Cal. 720 as automatic; keep the auction label attached to its lot until factory records clarify the Kew movement name.

The trial movements differ in present condition. Bonhams reports that the balance in movement 4156 had been changed. Koller says movement 4160 later received a new balance and balance cock; its 2026 listing describes movement 4185 with its original Guillaume compensation balance and polished, bevelled steel cock.

Dial map

The documented silvered dials have applied markers and subsidiary seconds at six. Christie's describes applied gold Arabic numerals; Antiquorum and Bonhams describe baton markers. The Kew A dial wording includes “Observatory Chronometer” and “Kew A Certificate,” with the latter printed in red on the Bonhams 2018 example.

Bonhams’ 2024 watch has a reprinted dial. It reads “Rolex Oyster Chronometer” without “Observatory” or “Kew A Certificate.” Bonhams identifies it as a reprint; it documents later dial condition, not a factory variant.

Hand descriptions also vary by lot. Antiquorum records yellow-gold dauphine hands; Bonhams 2018 describes gilt dagger hands with luminous inserts; its 2024 reprint example has gilt lance hands. Three hand descriptions appear in the cited lots; the records do not establish a production sequence.

Case, bezel, crystal, and crown

The catalogued diameter ranges from 34 to 35 mm. Christie's calls the case circular and water-resistant; Antiquorum describes a three-body case with an inverted bezel and concave lugs; Bonhams calls its examples tonneau-form. These are lot-level descriptions; the records do not show whether they represent separate case designs. The catalogues describe a screw-down caseback and crown. They do not identify the crystal material consistently.

Bracelets, end links, clasps, and packaging

Auction records mostly show the 6210 on leather. Koller’s 2025 listing describes a Bucherer gold bracelet as an alternative to a leather strap on one sale watch; factory supply and original fitment remain unproved. The cited records identify no verified bracelet reference, end-link number, or clasp code.

Bonhams’ 2024 lot lists a Rolex box as an accompaniment, without tying it to the 6210 at original sale.

Historical market and auction record

The table covers six auction records through June 2026. Five case numbers are visible; Bonhams masks the last two digits in its 2018 record, so that lot may overlap with another sale. Koller’s 2025 catalogue reports four earlier appearances; its 2026 listing reports five. The six records are not a count of six confirmed individual watches.

Sale Case / movement Record
Christie's Geneva, 16 Nov 2009, lot 188 97'461 / 4162 34 mm; applied gold Arabic numerals; catalogue dates movement to 1948 and casing to 1954
Antiquorum Geneva, 27 Mar 2011, lot 108 97476 / 4157 34 mm; baton markers; dauphine hands
Bonhams London, 12 Dec 2018, lot 22 974** / 4156 35 mm; Kew A dial; balance reported changed
Bonhams, 12 Dec 2024, lot 19 97473 / 4161 35 mm; reprinted dial; Rolex box listed
Koller Zurich, 24 Jun 2025, lot 2860 97457 / 4160 35 mm; later balance and balance cock; Bucherer gold bracelet listed as an alternative
Koller Zurich, 23 Jun 2026, lot 2860 97463 / 4185 35 mm; Kew A dial; Guillaume balance and polished, bevelled cock described as original

The auction houses identify these as case numbers. James Dowling reported 97458 as the case number of the fourth gold-cased watch. The 6210’s five-digit case numbers sit outside the six-digit ranges in generic serial charts; the sources reviewed do not provide a conversion between the two systems. The serial-number guide records the lot-level dates without treating them as a 6210 serial sequence.

Sources